Non-Dairy Creamers…Are They Good For You?

According to Wikipedia, “Non-dairy creamers are liquid or granular substances intended to substitute for milk or cream as an additive to coffee or other beverages.  They do not contain lactose and are therefore not considered dairy products……”.   These so called “dairy substitutes” contain sodium caseinate, corn syrup or other sweeteners and flavorings, and partially hydrogenated soybean oil.  What I do know about these is you don’t have to store them in the refrigerator.  That always scares me.  Like that yellow cheese my Mom used to make grilled cheese when we were kids that was stored on the shelf!

Let’s break down these ingredients and then you can decide for yourself if you’d like to continue using them for your coffee.

On nutrition labels, the ingredients are listed in order, from the greatest amount contained in the product to the least amount.  The principal ingredients in all non-dairy creamers are sugars and vegetable oils.  In powdered “milk”, the first ingredient is corn syrup solids.  This is dried corn syrup, the same ingredient found in soft drinks and processed food that is one of the causes of obesity in children and adults.  This ingredient accumulates in the liver and has a direct effect on our triglycerides, sending them straight up.  A good boost first thing in the morning, no?  NO!

Partially hydrogenated soybean oil is next.  This is a trans fat.  Even though the label states “0g of trans fat”.  The labeling laws say if a product has less than .5g of trans fats per serving, the manufacturer can claim there are NO trans fats in it.  Manufacturers make their serving size small enough so they can claim “no trans fats”.  This would benefit the food industry, not your health.  Not only do these chemicals boost your triglycerides, but also increase your chances of cancer, heart disease, high cholesterol, and liver disease from hydrogenated soybean oil, the most highly processed, genetically modified oil on the market.

Sodium caseinate is a milk protein, but does not contain lactose.  According to Vegparadise News Bureau, “The sodium caseinate’s purpose is to provide a hint of dairy flavor as well as to create a thickening and whitening for a creamy look and feel.  Sodium caseinate is obtained from fresh and pasteurized skim milk by acid coagulation of the casein, neutralization with sodium hydroxide, and drying in a spray dryer.”  Even though the label reads “non-dairy”, the label also reads, “milk derivative” and states it “contains: milk, soy“.  Sodium caseinate is actually a glue used to put a label on a bottle of beer.  Also the glue that holds together wood furniture.  Your body sees this casein as a foreign protein and you produce histamines that end up as mucus.

Not convinced yet to read more of your food labels?  Dry, non-dairy creamers are also flammable.  The powdered substance becomes dispersed in the air and a small spark can set fire to it.  The rest of the label is hardly pronounceable.  We all know that if we can’t pronounce it, it probably isn’t good for us.  Oh, and the shelf life of these products?  Two years!  Be a label reader.  Be proactive.

Just found this song by Third Eye Blind, the chorus is, “So what’s it going to be?  Are you real to me?  Or are you nondairy creamer?”

Related Articles:

  • Guest

    Great info. But no information about an alternative…. That would help.

  • GayValjean

    I thought 0g trans fat and NO trans fat were different things. I thought 0g was simply rounding, whereas NO trans fat was literally no trans fat.

    But I may be mistaken. Good read, I never really thought about what the heck those “creamers” are made out of